Week 5 – 3D Scans

3D scanning was super fun to explore and I found myself drawn to the medium, particularly the more messier aspects of it…and it was super messy.

I chose to my scans outside at a park by Jamaica Bay. It was under a bridge and there was low lighting and it was slightly windy.

I instructed my friend how to do a 3D scan and coach them along the way but I found my scan to not be as good as my scan of them. I think the lighting wasn’t as good for me and my skin color and seemed to fit their skin color better.

I tried doing a frontal scan in my room with warm light directly on my face and that proved to be a lot better.

I tried head scans using both the Scandy Pro app and the Capture app. The capture app seemed slightly better for the head can but seemed almost impossible to get a full body scan using it because it would randomly stop scanning before we moved around the entirety of my body.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started